I went to a talk about artificial intelligence by Calum Chace, a former business executive and blogger on artificial intelligence, about 4 months ago. He has written several books on the subject, which you can find here. I am going to review one of his books called Surviving AI in this post, as I haven’t done a book review on my blog yet.

Surviving AI is a very interesting and informative book. It discusses the good things about AI, as well as the dangers. I found it very easy to read, and all the points are explained clearly, under subtitles. I also liked the fact that it had a ‘day in the life’ part which showed what someone’s daily life might be like when machines that are as clever as humans become a reality.  It explains lots of different aspects of AI, such as in this passage about exponential growth:

“Doubling something every period is exponential growth, and exponential growth turns out to be astonishingly fast. If you take thirty steps ahead you will travel about thirty yards. If you could double the length of your stride with each step you would reach the moon – and back again.”

I found this fact amazing, and I strongly recommend this book.

Here is a link to Calum’s blog.

If you liked this post, please follow my blog, and I will try to do some more book reviews.

