Quite a long time ago, I decided to buy as Raspberry Pi, which is a small computer that you can get for about £30. You link it up to a keyboard, mouse and screen, and then you can use it to write code in Python, Scratch and more, surf the web, as well as use its General Purpose Input/Output (GPIO) pins to connect to and programme electronic components such as LEDs, buzzers (or speakers), and pretty much any other fairly simple device you can think of. However, I haven’t actually used my Pi for any large projects, so I thought I might try to build a simple laser tag system with it. The thing is, I’m not really sure how. I know I need some kind of beam, a sensor, to detect if you’ve been shot, and a body, to keep all the parts in.

A Raspberry Pi
A Raspberry Pi

I was thinking of using the Raspberry Pi learn resources to help me get to know how to use the GPIO pins (https://www.raspberrypi.org/learning/physical-computing-with-python/), as they’re quite good. I still don’t know everything I need to build my laser tag though, so I was wondering if anyone had any ideas, tips, or advice that I might find use ful. If you do, please leave a comment – it would be really helpful! I’ll keep you updated on how the project’s going. Thanks!

